Airmail, the sparrow alternative is here.

Since Airmail launched its beta, I have been using as my mail client and I found hardly not much of bugs to be my default mail client. Yet, the ‘beta’ stopped me from doing so as I have bad past of using beta products as my default client. It changed today!

Airmail is now on App Store and its great. I mean “Sparrow-esque” great – actually even better. And its for just $1.99.

If you have read my Airmail beta review (Do read as the review there is more detailed!), I mentioned that the app was getting regular updates. It seemed like there was an update almost everyday not just fixing bugs, but also adding a tiny little feature or two. With a stable release, how much of difference does it come with? Find out below

Changes from Beta : 

I could hardly find any difference. I felt that I paid to get the same app without “beta” tag attached. But, having said that, I would have paid any amount for this app. Such is my demand for a Mac mail.

The big difference I noticed, is how responsive and quick the app has become. Beta was sluggish in launching and from there it hardly stuck. But this version is far more speedy.

Set-up : 

It has had not changed much from beta. It supports a huge range of accounts that would suffice a non-geeky user. From AOL to iCloud and IMAP accounts, the login is hassle-free. The advanced tab would let you customise your set-up incase you need it.

Easy to setup.

Easy to setup.

User Interface : 

The UI is broken down to three panes – actually four! On left is the account information, followed by the Folder pane which can be customised to a simple view. The message pane is next, which has few themes to choose from the settings, with detailed pane being last.

UI - simplified view!

UI – simplified view!

 

Being a beta user for a long time, I found very comfortable with hardly anything new – not that I am complaining.

Prefs :  

The preference section has lot more customisations than sparrow. Also, the setting can be made for each account. So, if I don’t want notification for my personal mail ID, I can set up that. Another notable feature is enabling “Gmail Shortcuts”. So if you are a heavy user of Gmail, that is very handy and might save you lot of time.

Prefs - General

Prefs – General

The dropbox sync meant I could attach from them directly. Probably the feature that some might miss is Facebook integration as sparrow did.

Airmail > Sparrow? 

Obviously! Not just because Sparrow is dead, but by the fact that it has lot more features that Sparrow doesn’t. Its worth $1.99!

My only worry is that, I don’t want Airmail to be pouched like Sparrow and abandon the product. Please. Even if that happens, just don’t ditch your loyal fans like Sparrow.

One thought on “Airmail, the sparrow alternative is here.

So, What you think? Leave a Reply to let us know.

